Pages

So, what *is* better than Super Mario Run?

vendredi 16 décembre 2016

Quote:

Originally Posted by guttaperk View Post
I know, I know. Shaun Musgrave's article said: Rayman Fiesta Run, Wind-Up Knight 2, and Punch Quest.

But none of those games are vertical/ portrait orientation, pick-me-up, one-handed auto-runners like SMR is.

So what competition does SMR really have? What are the alternatives if I like what it tries to do, but believe that it could and should have been better done?

Portrait, one=handed auto runners? How specific do you have to be? Does it have to have Mario too? I think Shaun was justified comparing it to those other auto runners, even if they are in landscape. But I take your point too.

Dankrio's Leap Day shout is a good one, though I wouldn't personally say it is any better than SMR - I reckon they're both four-star games. Nekosan is flipping brilliant, though: one-handed, portrait, pick up and play. It's also very hard, despite being pretty short.

Better auto runners, there aren't many. Lost Socks is genuinely better, but it's landscape, has virtual buttons and is hard as nails. I reckon the Rayman games are as good as SMR.

Better actual old-school Mario-style games - from this year alone - include Super Phantom Cat and Super Cat Tales. Catformers - it's a thing.


2016 GOTY nominations (needs editing!): Crashlands, FFIX, Sky Force Reloaded, Lost Socks, Tennis Champs Returns, Teeny Titans, Human Resource Machine, Imbroglio, Retsnom, SteamWorld Heist
Comeback of the year: Monster Hunter Freedom Unite

Let's block ads! (Why?)



So, what *is* better than Super Mario Run?

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire